top of page

Paul Cotter Eagle A.C. Vice Chairman, Ruairi Egan Race Director, Hannah Steeds Winning Lady, Joe Murphy Eagle AC, Karen Bevan Race Director. Photo by Liz O Donnell

The Eagle AC Cheetah Run at Fota Wildlife Park on Thursday May 18th 2023 was an unforgettable evening. There was a buzz of excitement around the wildlife park that only the Cheetah Run can bring. This was a very special evening for the club, marking the the first presentation of the ‘Anne Lucey Murphy Memorial Cup’ to the winning lady on the night.


The 1st lady home was Hannah Steeds of Leevale AC, a talented runner finishing in a time of 17:33. Annes husband Joe Murphy presented the cup to Hannah, and her name will now be first engraved on a list of many talented female runners in the coming years. A fitting tribute to a valued clubmate, a much loved runner & photographer in Cork. Michelle Kenny also of Leevale AC took 2nd place in 17:51 and Kealey Tideswell of Clonmel A.C. was 3rd in 17:57. Brilliant running by the ladies.

Our winner on the night was Ray Hynes of Donroe AC, making the trip down from Dublin to be a part of this amazing evening. It was a tight race up to 4K when Ray made a break for home in a blistering time on this course of 15:25. Second place was won by Tipp resident Sergiu Ciobanu, Clonliffe Harriers A.C. in 15:37 and a Cork man Denis Hegarty Watergrasshill A.C. took 3rd place in 15:47. We were delighted to welcome such a high quality field to our 2023 Cheetah Race.

We had 723 finishers in our 5 Km and 79 finishers in our 1 mile event. A total of 802 finishers in a 1000 place sold out event, is an achievement that we are very proud of. A total of 46 running clubs and 15 counties were represented and in celebrating our ladies this year it was fitting that our ladies outnumbered our men.

We appreciate each & every runner/ walker that was a part of this magic evening in Fota Wildlife Park, thank you for your support.

Top 5 Males

1 Ray HYNES 00:15:25 00:15:26

622 M M40 Donore Harriers A.C.

2 Sergiu CIOBANU 00:15:37 00:15:38

475 M MS  Clonliffe Harriers A.C.

3 Denis HEGARTY 00:15:47 00:15:49

608 M MS Watergrasshill A.C.

4 Donnchadh MAC AODHA 00:15:56 00:15:57

678 M MS North East Runners A.C.

5 Barry TWOHIG 00:15:57 00:15:58

395  M M40  St. Finbarrs A.C.

Top 5 Females

1 Hannah STEEDS 00:17:33 00:17:35

908 F FS Leevale A.C.

2 Michelle KENNY 00:17:51 00:17:53

652 F F40  Leevale A.C.

3 Kealey TIDESWELL 00:17:57 00:17:57 

920 F F35 Clonmel A.C.

4 Carol FINN 00:18:05 00:18:05 

93 F FS  Leevale A.C.

5 Aoibhin FLATLEY 00:19:08 00:19:09

98 F FS Swinford A.C.

bottom of page