top of page
  • Writer's pictureBarra Oconnell

The 33rd Annual Tommy Ryan Memorial 5 Mile Race, 20th February 2022

The start of the 33rd Annual Tommy Ryan 5 Mile Road Race, 2022

The return of races has certainly brought back a buzz that we have missed over the past two years, with the cancellation of so many events due to Covid-19. The atmosphere on the morning of Sunday 20th of February in Carrigaline was a true testament to this. This could be remembered as the year of the storms, but we managed to find a window and slotted into the alphabet between ‘Dudley’ ‘Eunice’ ‘Eagle Race’ and ‘Franklin’ to hold our 33rd Annual 5 Mile race, a tribute to a former club member Mr Tommy Ryan. This was Ruairi Egan’s 3rd year as race director but the first in-person event that the club has been able to host in those 3 years, & Karen Bevan slotting in as assistant to learn on the job. The race serves as both a club fundraiser and contributes traditionally to 2 charities, Carrigaline Meals on Wheels & Forόige Youth Development Organisation Carrigaline. This year we were delighted to be offered a lead motorbike from the Irish Blood bikes and in thanks added this charity to our race donations. Eagle AC is continually grateful for the ongoing sponsorship of this event by The Edge Sports, Kinsale road.

There was an overwhelming support from the running community with over 400 pre-entries to the race. As Covid still holds a presence over proceedings, the race held as a purely outdoors event. This hampered our ability to host the post-race teas, coffees & chats indoors, but did not take away from the atmosphere. Refreshments were provided at the finish line and the friendly rumble of post-race reviews & congratulations, was lovely to hear. The weather on the other hand served up strong winds and rain, making this year’s event a true test of strength & willpower, and starting numbers were reduced to 289.

Paul Moloney Mallow AC, Michael Harty East Cork AC Photo Credit: Joe Anne Murphy Photos.

We were delighted to have Michael Ryan, Tommy’s brother in attendance and hear stories of some of the racing rivalry that Tommy, it seems, was very fond of. Michael did a fantastic job of giving the runners their starters orders and getting the race underway. Fittingly, the race was a head-to-head battle over the 5 miles by two of Corks talented runners Michael Harty East Cork AC & Paul Moloney Mallow AC. They fought the course, the elements, and the hills together but a powerful finishing kick gave Michael Harty the win at the finish line. The first lady home was St. Finbarr’s Emma Murphy, another talented athlete who led the race throughout. Michael Ryan kindly awarded the trophies on the day and supplied some spot prizes of his own too!

Michael Ryan, Emma Murphy St Finbarr’s AC 1st Lady, Michael Harty East Cork AC 1st Male, Ruairi Egan Race Director Photo Credit: Siobhan Russell.

Individual Prize Winners.

Prizes were awarded to the first 5 men and women to cross the finish line, and these were as follows Top 5 Men:

  1. Michael Harty East Cork AC 25:30

  2. Paul Moloney Mallow AC 25:34

  3. John Meade St. Finbarr’s AC 26:46

  4. Damian Kenneally Eagle AC 27:19

  5. Donncha Kiely Tracton AC 27:52

Top 5 Ladies:

  1. Emma Murphy 31:11

  2. Linda O’ Sullivan Watergrasshill AC 31:36

  3. Aoife Mahony Eagle AC 32:42

  4. Linda O Connor 32:42

  5. Gwen Conroy Watergrasshill AC 34:02 The top 5 cash prize structure is as follows: 1st €100, 2nd €80, 3rd €60, 4th €40, 5th €25.

Photo Credit Mick Dooley

Team Prize Winners.

Club Prizes were awarded as top 3 finishers as follows: 1st Men’s Team: Mallow AC (Paul Moloney 25:34, Daire O’ Sullivan 29:58, Michael Clancy 31:05) 1st Ladies Team: Watergrasshill AC (Linda O’ Sullivan 31:36, Gwen Conroy 34:02, Lisa Crowley 34:23) 2nd Men’s Team: Leevale AC (Matthew Lee 29:39, Jack Curran 30:18, Alan Harrington 30:24) 2nd Ladies Team: Tracton AC (Fiona O’ Mahony 36:22, Trish O’Sullivan 42:13, Elaine Rodrigues 42:34) First place team prizes €15 Edge Sports voucher each, 2nd place teams €10 Edge sports voucher each.

There were a whole host of Category Prize winners, and they were awarded outside of the first 5 prize-winners as follows:

Female Category Prize Winners


  1. Loveness Hegarty 39:46

  2. Rose Fielding 42:41

  3. Kiara Tanner 42:41


  1. Fiona O Mahony 36:22

  2. Clodagh Creedon 36:50

  3. Grace Hunter 40:27


  1. Lisa Crowley 34:23

  2. Siobhan Holland 34:52

  3. Paula Mulcahy 39:26


  1. Ita Kirwan 38:57

  2. Fiona Downey 39:59

  3. Jane Power 42:25


  1. Kathleen Cronin 38:34

  2. Colette Ryan 42:30

  3. Angela Harrington 45:06


  1. Mary Sweeney 36:00

  2. Mary Lee 50:21

  3. Kay Birch 51:57


  1. Marion Lyons 44:26

  2. Fatima Boukerche 50:02

  3. Norma Harrington 51:22


  1. Maggie Dunne 1:00:51

Male Category Prize Winners


  1. Darren McCann 28:45

  2. Stephen Lynch 29:37

  3. Kevin Corbett 31:28


  1. Keith Kelly 27:58

  2. Daire O Sullivan 29:58

  3. John Lynch 30:15


  1. Garry Clerkin 30:21

  2. Wieslaw Sosnowski 30:27

  3. Michael Clancy 31:05


  1. Seamus McSweeney 29:52

  2. John Kelly 31:52

  3. Joe Coffey 32:29


  1. John Cashman 33:52

  2. Kieran Twomey 34:47

  3. Martin Lynch 35:26


  1. Neil Creedon 41:29

  2. Paul Cotter 42:01

  3. Timothy Leonard 42:49


  1. Jj Murphy 34:54

  2. Mossy Shanahan 39:45

  3. Ger O Connell 49:30


  1. Richard Piotrowski 37:14

  2. Donie O Connell 44:34

  3. Joe Harris 50:39


  1. Ian Kohler 47:49

Category prizes are awarded as vouchers for the Edge Sports 1st place €20, 2nd €15, 3rd €10.

Spot prizes

6 free entries to the Cheetah Run at Fota Wildlife Park on May 19th, were awarded on the day at random to the following people:

• Dermot O’ Sullivan Mallow AC • Kevin Mansfield • Marie Marshall • Damian Manning Crosshaven Tri • Eoin McGettigan • Colin Jermy We will be in touch with you to pass on your spot prize.

Lastly, but most importantly we must give thanks to the club members of Eagle AC, along with their families & friends, who can always be relied upon and turned out in force to make today possible. There are too many to mention but each of you played a part in making our 2022 race possible.

We would like to mention a few key members for a special word of thanks

• Elaine Guinane, Chief steward • Pat Murphy, Start/Finish area management • Denis Looney, Course Set Up • Grellan McGrath, Club Chairman • Derek Costello, Club Photos • Joe Murphy, Club Photos • Mick Dooley, Club Photos • Maressa Mills, Instagram on the day • Mairead Lonergan, numerous roles! • Sandra Manning, Post race refreshments • Daniel Luxton, Lead Car • Diarmaid O’ Crowley, The Irish Blood Bikes Escort • Lucy & Vinnie of My Run Results who were very helpful on the day

Thank you all for your support both on the day and in all the messages that have arrived since.

See you again next year!

Ruairi Egan & Karen Bevan Eagle AC Race Directors 2022

0 views0 comments


bottom of page