top of page
  • karenbevanluxton

the 35th annual Tommy Ryan Memorial, Carrigaline 5 Mile Road Race February 18th 2024 at 11am.

Updated: Jan 18

Eagle AC is delighted to announce the return of the 35th annual Tommy Ryan Memorial, Carrigaline 5 Mile Road Race, on February 18th 2024 at 11am.

Registrations open on NEW YEARS DAY:

The race will take place over the usual course. It's one of Corks longstanding race routes, where every mile tells a story, and Carrigaline always lends itself to some exciting head-to-head battles. Whether your skills lie in the uphill’s, the down hills, or the flat road speed to the finish line, Carrigaline has it all.

Last year there was a race against the clock with Lizzie Lee, Leevale AC running a superb race to break the 28-minute course bonus for the ladies and Pat Hennessy of Waterford AC narrowly missing out on the men’s 25-minute course bonus. Despite a brave effort on the day that 25 min barrier remains standing.

Winning Man 2023: Pat Hennessy West Waterford AC

Winning lady 2023: Lizzie Lee Leevale AC

Top 3 ladies 2023 Lizzie Lee #462, Jelena Abele #478, Sharon Rynne #822

Top 3 Men 2023 Pat Hennessy #576, Donal Coakley #508, John Meade #631

Indeed, we have had some amazing winners over recent years including & to name but a few:


Pat Hennessy 00:25:42 West Waterford A.C. Lizzie Lee 00:27:43 Leevale A.C.


Michael Harty 00:25:30 East Cork AC Emma Murphy 00:31:11 St. Finbarr’s AC

2021 Virtual Event

Damian Kenneally 27.22 Eagle AC Aoife Cooke 27.36 Eagle AC


Event was cancelled due to a storm on the day.


Sergiu Ciobanu Clonliffe Harriers 00:25:09 Claire McCarthy Leevale A.C. 00:28:14


David FOX Leevale AC 00:26:17 Niamh Moore Cork Varsity 00:31:00

And so many more!

Our Sponsors

We would like to thank our very generous sponsors the Edge Sports Shop for their ongoing sponsorship of our club event and as a result we have an incredible array of prizes. Our course bonus returns this year in collaboration with Coughlan DeKeyser Architects, and we are incredibly grateful to have them on board.

The Prizes:

Top Finishers:

Male & Female 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th & 5th

1st Wheelchair Male & Female

Top Teams:

Male & Female Teams 1st & 2nd

Category Prizes:

O35 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

O40 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

O45 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

O50 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

055 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

O60 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

O65 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

O70 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

O75 M&F – 1st, 2nd & 3rd

Course Bonus:

€ 250 for first man sub 25 mins

€ 250 for first lady sub 27:43 mins (Set by Lizzie Lee 2023)

For a course preview please visit

Our Charity Partners:

Entry for the race is €15 and €2 from every entry will be donated to Carrigaline Meals-on-Wheels, and Carrigaline Community Drugs Initiative.

Registration & Results

Our chip timing will be managed by the ever reliable My Run Results and thank you to the ‘My Run Results’ team.

Please find all race & registration details on the link below.

The very popular post-race refreshments will be served in the Carrigaline Community Hall after the race and all participants & supporters are very welcome.

We look forward to seeing you all in Carrigaline on February 18th 2024, and thank you for your ongoing support of our club event.

For any queries or questions about the race please contact

229 views0 comments


bottom of page